Gateway > Home > Training > NHS Suicide Prevention Training Standard

NHS Suicide Prevention Training standard

NHS frontline staff are required to be trained in suicide prevention skills and awareness.

The current standard states that 50% of staff in the identified roles must be trained in suicide prevention on an ongoing basis. The Scottish Government will be issuing guidance to NHS boards detailing the roles and levels required. This page is designed to provide you with resources to help with meeting the training standard. We will continue to update these pages with useful resources, guidance, links and information about currently approved courses. 

Currently Approved Courses 

Learning Level: Awareness and identification

  • safeTALK
  • SMHFA: Young People (for staff supporting young people)
  • SIPP (NHS Tayside)

Learning Level: Intervention

  • STORM CYA (for staff supporting young people)
  • Pre Hospital Mental Health Crisis Course
  • Realising Recovery (NHS Lothian)
  • Sainsbury’s MH Training + 10ESCs + ACP (NHS Fife)

Identifying Contributory Prior Learning

The report, Identifying Contributory Prior Learning was commissioned in response to requests from Health Boards to recognise the prior learning of their staff in meeting the HEAT 5 target. It was felt that by mapping the prior learning of the staff groups identified in the target, the learning needs of those staff groups could be more clearly identified, met and suitable learning opportunities provided.  

We use cookies to help improve this website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue. Don't show this message again